BLOOMING PRAIRIE HIGH SCHOOL
Instructors: David Pfiefer, Chad Gimbel
Driver Permit & License Tests
Students testing for their driver permit or driver's license are being strongly encouraged to use the pre-application on the Driver and Vehicle Services website prior to taking a knowledge test, applying for an instruction permit, or a driver’s license. Starting the application online will reduce wait times when at a driver’s license office. This feature can also be used by anyone renewing their license or identification card, requesting a duplicate or moving into the state and applying for the first time. Here is the link to the DVS site:
*Click on the PRE-APPLY box.
Behind The Wheel
Those who did not get behind the wheel during the summer can get signed up in September for fall lessons. Signing up is done outside Mr. Pfiefer's classroom and needs to be done to be put on the fall schedule. Lessons will begin in mid September and start immediately after the school day, finishing up around 5:00. A separate signup will be done in February for the spring months.
Scheduling your behind the wheel test for your driver's license:
Once you have received your white card showing completion of behind the wheel, and you are testing for a farm license or you have had your permit for six months and are 16 or older, you can schedule your driving test. It is preferred that you do this online, but you can call or do it in person if you wish. Here's the link to do it online:
***Point of Impact class for parents will be Monday, February 18th, 2019, at 6:30 p.m. This 90 minute class is not required, but offers information on the risks that novice drivers present. Preregistration for the class is required and can be done by calling the high school office at 583-4426. More information below.***
Point of Impact Meeting
Your son/daughter has either already completed the classroom portion of driver education or may be soon. The next step is to take the behind the wheel portion. After that is complete and he/she has had a drivers permit for a minimum of six months, and is at least 16 years old, he/she can take the driving exam to get a provisional driver’s license.
In 2015 the state of Minnesota added a new law regarding parent/guardian responsibilities concerning your son/daughter’s driving with a permit before testing for a driver’s license. Effective January 1, 2015, every driver under the age of 18 who completes behind the wheel instruction and is testing for a provisional driver’s license must submit a driving log. This log sheet can be found at:
Parents/guardians have two options regarding the supervised driving log:
**Complete a supplemental parent class provided by a driver education program approved in Minnesota, and then submit a supervised driving log showing their teen has completed at least 40 hours (2,400 minutes) of supervised driving, 15 hours (900 minutes) of which are nighttime hours;
**If the parent/guardian chooses to not complete the supplemental parent class, the driving log must show that their teen has completed at least 50 hours (3,000 minutes) of supervised driving, 15 hours (900 minutes) of which are nighttime hours.
Parents/guardians are encouraged to provide as many additional driving hours with their teen as possible to prepare them to become a safe driver. The driving log must be presented at the time of the road test and submitted with the application for the provisional license.
Blooming Prairie Public Schools will be offering the supplemental parent class to satisfy the new state law on on an annual basis, in February, at the high school, starting at 6:30 p.m. You must preregister for the class by calling the high school office at 583-4426, starting in January. A minimum of 10 need to be registered for the class, or it will not be held. The parent class is not mandatory, but offers information on the risks that novice drivers present. If you have questions, feel free to call David Pfiefer at 583-4426 and ask to leave a message, unless calling before 8:00 a.m. or after 3:00 p.m.
David Pfiefer & Chad Gimbel
Licensed Driving Instructors
Sign-up for the October class will begin in October, 2019. Any student age 14 or older who wants to take classroom driver education should pick up a sign-up sheet outside Mr. Pfiefer's room (102) and return it into a separate folder outside his room. Class will start Monday, October 28, at 3:00 p.m. and meet on the following dates: Oct. 28 - Oct. 31, Nov 4 - Nov. 8, and Nov. 11. The next class will be offered in the summer of 2020, starting on Monday, June 1.
Driver education for students who are 14 to 17 will begin soon. Learning to drive is a major step in growing up, and whether parents are ready or not, their teenager has long been waiting for this time. This is also, however, one of the most dangerous times of a child’s life. Automobile crashes are the number one cause of death for teenagers. Some parents might want to delay their child from driving for that very reason. That, however, is not a reasonable solution to the problem.
Minnesota State law currently requires drivers under the age of 18 to go through 30 hours of classroom instruction followed by six hours of behind the wheel instruction. All students under the age of 19 must hold a valid permit for a minimum of six months before testing for a driver’s license. This is only a minimum requirement. Parents are a vital link in the educational process of their teen. They are the ones who have the greatest influence over what type of risk their teen is going to be exposed to. It is the parents or guardians who must decide if their teenager is ready to take the wheel!
Below are some key points about the class.
|Contact: David Pfiefer|